This week's poll is brought to you by my recent experience shooting a video for the upcoming exhibit about the Rosetta spacecraft that will be at the Royal Society in July. I watched the final cut last night, and I noticed that I found it easier than the previous rough cuts, mostly because all except two of my sections had been converted into voiceovers.
As regular journal readers will know, I don't have a problem with viewing still images of myself (because I can select the better ones). And I now know I don't have a problem hearing audio-only recordings of myself. But as soon as my image is moving, I find the experience of viewing it excruciating and cringe-worthy and I must blot it from my memory with gin as quickly as possible.
Thus, today I'm wondering if other people have similar reactions to viewing/hearing recorded versions of themselves.
As regular journal readers will know, I don't have a problem with viewing still images of myself (because I can select the better ones). And I now know I don't have a problem hearing audio-only recordings of myself. But as soon as my image is moving, I find the experience of viewing it excruciating and cringe-worthy and I must blot it from my memory with gin as quickly as possible.
Thus, today I'm wondering if other people have similar reactions to viewing/hearing recorded versions of themselves.
Poll #15085 Recorded versions of earlier selves
Open to: Registered Users, detailed results viewable to: Just the Poll Creator, participants: 34
I can cope with
Hearing audio-only recordings of myself
15 (51.7%)
Viewing video-only recordings of myself
5 (17.2%)
Viewing still images of myself
24 (82.8%)
Hearing and viewing audiovisual recordings of myself
5 (17.2%)
I do not like
Hearing audio-only recordings of myself
21 (65.6%)
Viewing video-only recordings of myself
23 (71.9%)
Viewing still images of myself
12 (37.5%)
Hearing and viewing audiovisual recordings of myself
27 (84.4%)
tags:

From:
no subject
So yeah, I can't tell if I'd like it or not. Probably not, though, because I hate still photographs of myself. Even Andrew, who otherwise doesn't have a bad word to say about me, says I don't photograph well. :)
From:
no subject
It's probably best avoided if there's no need for it and you already know you dislike it.
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
I'm of the opinion that it's best to avoid video if it's not necessary and you know you dislike it.
From:
no subject
I didn't mind the 'vlog' video I made of myself a couple of years ago. For some reason that was okay. But I was on the news once when I was about 16, in the background of something they were filming at our school, and it was heinous.
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
I find myself wanting to "fix" my expressions while I'm watching myself on video. "No! Don't look over there! Why are you grimacing? Augh, no, don't touch your hair." And so on.
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
I consistently hate my own voice, though: I try to modulate it but it gets pitch-y way too easily. By pitch-y I mean too high or too low, at least by recording standards: I don't think about it a lot unless I'm recording myself or being recorded and hear it afterward, but my pitch seems to be controlled by what I feel or see and react to in the moment, and quite often it really does make me cringe.
From:
no subject
My voice goes about two octaves higher when I talk to my family. It drives me bonkers.
From:
no subject
I have become accustomed to audio, and still images aren't particularly bad. I haven't watched video that I'm in enough to form an opinion, as I have a bad time with the format let alone with myself in it.
From:
no subject
O LOR YES. I'm glad my journal is there, but there are some bits of it I really don't need to revisit until I'm a lot older.
From:
no subject
Actually, as a lawyer, I recently discovered a whole new form of self-criticism. We appealed a decision that went against our client, so ordered a transcript of the hearing in question. When it arrived I read it with mounting horror; what felt at the time like a pretty fair improvised response to awkward questions from the judge came across on paper, at least to me, as semi-coherent waffling garbage. Apparently this is very common when you read your own extemporaneous argument but it was still pretty traumatising at the time!
From:
no subject
Daaaaang that sounds really difficult. I dislike verbalising, or setting down in writing, that I'm not fairly sure says exactly what I mean. It's taken me years to get to the point where I'm willing to make a journal entry that hasn't been saved previously to a Word or Google document and pondered over, and I still don't do it very often. And it's not like I get paid for that either! :P